Review of Criminal Decision

criminaldecision

Before I start, I know the author from one of my on-line book clubs. I heard about the book because of that; however it did not effect my review in any shape or form.

Jill Kramer’s Criminal Decision was a very painful and emotional book to read. Why I say that is because it hits way too close to home. Many children and parents have suffered at the hands of the court. In that sense, I could easily classify this book as a “soft” horror book due to the abuse of ethics, child well-being and justice. The mere fact that stuff like this happens in real life is quite an eye-opener.

I have to give her props for writing a book about child abuse without over-dishing the book with lots of scenes with the actual abuse on-screen. The approach was subtle but effective with describing how the little girl reacted to before and after visiting her father’s family. In that sense, I felt that it was a very plotted book since it went into why the mother (Gina) did what she had to do to protect her daughter Emily.

If I had to recommend a fictional book about child abuse, this would be the book I’d recommend. In my personal reading experience a majority of the fictional books I’ve read about the subject tend to over romanticize it, but this book did not glorify the negative aspects at all.

About hightowermeagan

Meagan Hightower is both a writer and a desktop music producer. View all posts by hightowermeagan

Leave a Reply

